Committee on Constitutional Affairs (AFCO)

The Parliamentary Committee on Constitutional Affairs is responsible for:

  • 1. 
    The institutional aspects of the European integration process, in particular in the framework of the preparation and proceedings of conventions and intergovernmental conferences
  • 2. 
    The implementation of the EU Treaty and the assessment of its operation
  • 3. 
    The institutional consequences of enlargement negotiations of the Union
  • 4. 
    interinstitutional relations, including, in view of their approval by Parliament, examination of interinstitutional agreements pursuant to Rule 127(2) of the Rules of Procedure
  • 5. 
    Uniform electoral procedure
  • 6. 
    Political parties at European level, without prejudice to the competences of the Bureau
  • 7. 
    The determination of the existence of a serious and persistent breach by a Member State of the principles common to the Member States
  • 8. 
    The interpretation and application of the Rules of Procedure and proposals for amendments thereto


Members EP committee


    Antonio Tajani iEPP


    Charles Goerens iRN


    Rainer Wieland iEPP
    Paulo Rangel iEPP
    Guy Verhofstadt iRN

    Gerolf Annemans iID

    Pascal Durand iRN
    Esteban González Pons iEPP

    Damian Boeselager iGreens/EFA
    Daniel Freund iGreens/EFA

    Helmut Scholz iGUE/NGL


    Danuta Hübner iEPP

    Brando Benifei iS&D
    Miapetra Kumpula-Natri iS&D
    Gilles Lebreton iID

    Raphaël Glucksmann iS&D

    Othmar Karas iEPP

    François Alfonsi iGreens/EFA
    Victor Negrescu iS&D

    Sophie in 't Veld (D66) iRN
    Angel Dzhambazki iECR
    Seán Kelly iEPP