Committee on Legal Affairs (JURI)

The Parliamentary Committee on Legal Affairs is responsible for:

  • 1. 
    The interpretation and application of European law, compliance of European Union acts with primary law, notably the choice of legal bases and respect for the principles of subsidiarity and proportionality
  • 2. 
    The interpretation and application of international law, in so far as the European Union is affected
  • 3. 
    The simplification of Community law, in particular legislative proposals for its official codification
  • 4. 
    The legal protection of Parliament's rights and prerogatives, including its involvement in actions before the Court of Justice and the Court of First Instance
  • 5. 
    Community acts which affect the Member States' legal order, namely in the fields of:

    (a) civil and commercial law,

    (b) company law,

    (c) intellectual property law,

    (d) procedural law;

  • 6. 
    Measures concerning judicial and administrative cooperation in civil matters
  • 7. 
    Environmental liability and sanctions against environmental crime
  • 8. 
    Ethical questions related to new technologies, applying the procedure with associated committees with the relevant committees
  • 9. 
    The Statute for Members and the Staff Regulations of the European Communities
  • 10. 
    Privileges and immunities as well as verification of Members' credentials
  • 11. 
    The organisation and statute of the Court of Justice
  • 12. 
    The Office for Harmonisation in the Internal Market