From Tampere 20 to Tampere 2.0. Towards a New European Consensus on Migration - EU monitor

EU monitor
Tuesday, January 21, 2020
date December 11, 2019 14:30 - 16:30
organisation European Policy Center (EPC)


Hanna Lehtinen, Ambassador to the EUís Political and Security Committee, Permanent Representation of Finland to the European Union

Philippe De Bruycker, Professor, Universitť libre de Bruxelles; Coordinator, Odysseus Academic Network

Marie De Somer, Head of the Migration and Diversity Programme, European Policy Centre

Dario Dudas, Minister Counsellor to SCIFA, HLWG, Asylum, JAIEX, Schengen Acquis, and AMF, Permanent Representation of the Republic of Croatia to the European Union

Rudolf Roy, Head of Unit Home Affairs, Asylum and Immigration, Permanent Representation of the Federal Republic of Germany to the European Union

Jean-Louis De Brouwer, Director of the European Affairs Programme, Egmont Institute (Moderator)

The European Policy Centre, the European Migration Network Finland, the Odysseus Academic Network and the Friedrich Naumann Foundation are pleased to invite you to the launch of the publication From Tampere 20 to Tampere 2.0 - Towards a New European Consensus on Migration.

This publication is centred on the twentieth anniversary of the Council Tampere conclusions of October 1999. The Tampere conclusions sketched out principles and guidelines that are still relevant for EU migration policy today. The anniversary of their adoption and this publication launch offer an ideal moment to discuss the future EU migration agenda in the light of the Commissionís plans for a New Pact on Migration and Asylum. This joint publication looks back at the Tampere legacy and puts forward proposals that can inform future EU migration, asylum and integration policy.

The publication was informed by a series of roundtables and consultations held by the partners over the course of the summer of 2019 in Brussels and by the Tampere 2.0 conference on 24-25 October in Helsinki, organised as a side event of Finlandís Presidency of the Council of the European Union.