Parliament group priorities: European Conservatives and Reformists - EU monitor

EU monitor
Thursday, June 4, 2020

Parliament group priorities: European Conservatives and Reformists

Source: European Parliament (EP) i, published on Monday, August 19 2019.

Access to video: European Conservatives and Reformists

(Video duration:01:09)

The centre-right European Conservatives and Reformists (ECR) is the sixth largest group in the current European Parliament.

During the European elections in May, about 200 million Europeans elected MEPs to represent them over the coming five years in the new European Parliament. Those MEPs are organised into groups based on their political affinities. Find out about the priorities of each group in our video series.

The conservative ECR group was founded in 2009. It holds 62 seats in the European Parliament, giving it sixth place in terms of size among the seven political groups in the current legislature. Its members come from 15 EU countries.

The group has two co-chairs: Ryszard Legutko, a Polish MEP who has been co-chair since 2017 and was elected for a third term in 2019, and Italy’s Raffaele Fitto, who was elected co-chair in June. He served as an MEP in 1999-2000 and again since 2014. The group has six vice-chairs.

This ECR group believes that Europe is in need of decentralisation and less bureaucracy. They also want to promote fair and free trade, economic recovery, growth and competitiveness as well as a reform of the EU's migration system

Two of the 20 chairs of the parliamentary committees are members of ECR.

Find out more

Product information

Ref.: 20190712STO56964