Declaration by the High Representative on behalf of the EU on the alignment of certain countries concerning restrictive measures in response to the illegal annexation of Crimea and Sevastopol - EU monitor

EU monitor
Monday, February 24, 2020
Source: Council of the European Union (Council) i, published on Tuesday, August 13 2019.

On 20 June 2019, the Council adopted Decision 2019/1018[1] amending Decision 2014/386/CFSP.

The Council extends the existing restrictive measures until 23 June 2020.

The Candidate Countries Montenegro* and Albania* and the EFTA country Norway, member of the European Economic Area, as well as Ukraine and Georgia align themselves with this decision.

They will ensure that their national policies conform to this Council Decision.

The European Union takes note of this commitment and welcomes it.

[1] Published on 21.06.2019 in the Official Journal of the European Union L 165, p.69.

  • Montenegro and Albania continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.