Declaration by the High Representative on behalf of the EU on the alignment of certain countries concerning restrictive measures in view of Russia's actions destabilising the situation in Ukraine - EU monitor

EU monitor
Tuesday, February 18, 2020
Source: Council of the European Union (Council) i, published on Tuesday, August 13 2019.

On 27 June 2019, the Council adopted Decision (CFSP) 2019/1108[1] amending Decision 2014/512/CFSP.

The Council Decision extends the restrictive measures for a further period of 6 months, until 31 January 2020.

The Candidate Countries Montenegro* and Albania*, the EFTA country Norway, member of the European Economic Area, as well as Ukraine align themselves with this decision.

They will ensure that their national policies conform to this Council Decision.

The European Union takes note of this commitment and welcomes it.

[1] Published on 28.06.2019 in the Official Journal of the European Union no. L 175/38.

  • Montenegro and Albania continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.