Declaration by the High Representative on behalf of the EU on the alignment of certain third countries concerning restrictive measures against the Democratic People's Republic of Korea

Source: Council of the European Union (Council) i, published on Tuesday, March 26 2019.

On 21 January 2019 the Council adopted Decision (CFSP) 2019/96[1] amending Council Decision (CFSP) 2016/849.

The Decision amends the list of persons subject to restrictive measures as set out in Annex II to Decision (CFSP) 2016/849 by removing two deceased persons from the Annex.

The Candidate Countries North Macedonia*, Montenegro*, Serbia* and Albania*, the country of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidate Bosnia and Herzegovina, and the EFTA countries Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, as well as the Republic of Moldova and Armenia, align themselves with this decision.

  • - North Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Albania continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.

They will ensure that their national policies conform to this Council Decision.

The European Union takes note of this commitment and welcomes it.

[1] Published on 22.01.2019 in the Official Journal of the European Union L 19/9.