EC President Jean-Claude JUNCKER receives the UK Prime Minister Theresa MAY at the European Commission, Brussels - EU monitor

EU monitor
Friday, February 21, 2020
Berlaymontgebouw in Brussel
© Kevin Bergenhenegouwen
date November 24, 2018 17:59 - 19:00
city Brussels, Belgium
location Berlaymont building (BERL) i Show location
station EbS
attending J.C. (Jean-Claude) Juncker i, Th.M. (Theresa) May i et al.
organisation European Commission (EC) i

Welcome and handshake at the VIP corner


European Commission (EC)

The European Commission is the executive body of the EU and runs its day-to-day business. It is made up of the College of Commissioners, 27 European Commissioners, one for each member state, who are each responsible for one or several policy areas. In addition, the 'Commission' also refers to the entire administrative body that supports the Commissioners, consisting of the Directorates-General and the Services.

The European Commission is the sole EU body capable of proposing new legislation. The Commission also performs an oversight function, monitoring whether European legislation is properly implemented in the member states. In the event of non-compliance, the Commission can coerce a member state to comply by starting a legal procedure at the European Court of Justice.


More about...