EC President Jean-Claude JUNCKER receives the President of Lithuania, and the Prime Ministers of Latvia, Estonia and Poland, Brussels - EU monitor

EU monitor
Tuesday, February 25, 2020
Berlaymontgebouw in Brussel
© Kevin Bergenhenegouwen

Jean-Claude JUNCKER, President of the EC, welcomes Dalia GRYBAUSKAITĖ, President of Lithuania; Māris KUČINSKIS, Prime Minister of Latvia; Jüri RATAS, Prime Minister of Estonia and Mateusz MORAWIECKI, Prime Minister of Poland


European Commission (EC)

The European Commission is the executive body of the EU and runs its day-to-day business. It is made up of the College of Commissioners, 27 European Commissioners, one for each member state, who are each responsible for one or several policy areas. In addition, the 'Commission' also refers to the entire administrative body that supports the Commissioners, consisting of the Directorates-General and the Services.

The European Commission is the sole EU body capable of proposing new legislation. The Commission also performs an oversight function, monitoring whether European legislation is properly implemented in the member states. In the event of non-compliance, the Commission can coerce a member state to comply by starting a legal procedure at the European Court of Justice.


More about...