Judges appointed to the European Court of Justice - EU monitor

EU monitor
Sunday, September 20, 2020

Judges appointed to the European Court of Justice

Source: Council of the European Union (Council) i, published on Wednesday, April 1 2015.

Eight judges and three advocates-general to the Court of Justice of the European Union were appointed by the representatives of the governments of the member states on 1 April.

The following persons were reappointed as judges for a further six years from 7 October 2015 to 6 October 2021:

Mr Marek Safjan (Poland)

Mr François Biltgen (Luxembourg)

Mr Siniša Rodin (Croatia)

Mr Allan Rosas (Finland)

Ms Küllike Jürimäe (Estonia)

Mr Daniel Šváby (Slovakia)

Mr Endre Juhász (Hungary)

Mr Lars Bay Larsen (Denmark)

Ms Eleanor Sharpston (United Kingdom) and Ms Juliane Kokott (Germany) were reappointed as advocates-general for the same six-year-period.

The representatives of member states' governments also appointed Mr Henrik Saugmandsgaard Øe (Denmark) as advocate-general for six years from 7 October 2015 to 6 October 2021.


The Court of Justice is currently composed of 28 judges and nine advocates-general. The number of advocates-general will increase to eleven by 7 October 2015. Every three years a partial replacement of judges and advocates-general takes place. The term of office of 14 judges and of four advocates-general expires on 6 October 2015. Two judges (from Belgium and Spain) were already reappointed on 24 September 2014 for the 2015 partial replacement exercise. This means that four judges and three advocates-general have still to be appointed by 7 October 2015.

The judges and advocates-general are appointed for a term of office of six years, which is renewable. The judges of the Court of Justice elect from amongst themselves a president for a renewable term of three years.

Related documents and publications