European Year of Intercultural Dialogue - Photo Competition Award, Amsterdam - EU monitor

EU monitor
Saturday, January 25, 2020
date September 25, 2008
city Amsterdam
attending J. (Ján) Figel' i, R. (Robert) Schuman i, J.O.M.G. (Jean) Monnet i et al.
organisation European Commission (EC)

All four winners of the Photo Competition "Culture in my street" will be announced at a festive awards ceremony near the Robert Schuman Room in Berlaymont building starting from 12:30.

A jury made up of established artists, leaders on intercultural dialogue issues and representatives of the European Commission has selected three winners, recognising the creativity and technical quality of the photos, as well as the photographers' ability to portray the theme of intercultural dialogue. The fourth winner will be rewarded with the "Public’s Favourite Award".



In the framework of the European Year of Intercultural Dialogue 2008, this competition challenges everyone living in the EU to grab a camera and capture their vision of intercultural dialogue.

The jury, presided by Professor Chris Wainwright, President of the European League of Institutes of the Arts (ELIA) in Amsterdam, is composed of Romanian-born French film director and screen writer Radu Mih?ileanu, Indian-born and German based Stern magazine photo journalist Jay Ullal, French photographer Charles Fréger, Hungarian-born and UK based writer and photographer Zsuzsanna Ardó, Dutch-Turkish photographer Ahmet Polat, and Finnish freelance photographer Arja Hyytiäinen.



An awards ceremony hosted Mr Ján Figel', European Commissioner for Education, Training, Culture and Youth, in the open area near the Jean Monnet Room.

  • Available on EbS (tbc)



Website of the European Year of Intercultural Dialogue 2008:

Website of the Photo Competition "Culture in my street"

Commissioner Figel's website:



John R. Macdonald +32 2 295 52 67

Sophie Andersson +32 2 295 02 08


More about...