Committee on Civil Liberties, Justice and Home Affairs (LIBE)

The Parliamentary Committee on Civil Liberties, Justice and Home Affairs is responsible for:

  • 1. 
    The protection within the territory of the Union of citizens' rights, human rights and fundamental rights, including the protection of minorities, as laid down in the Treaties and in the Charter of Fundamental Rights of the European Union
  • 2. 
    The measures needed to combat all forms of discrimination other than those based on sex or those occurring at the workplace and in the labour market
  • 3. 
    Legislation in the areas of transparency and of the protection of natural persons with regard to the processing of personal data
  • 4. 
    The establishment and development of an area of freedom, security and justice, in particular:
  • measures concerning the entry and movement of persons, asylum and migration,
  • measures concerning an integrated management of the common borders,
  • measures relating to police and judicial cooperation in criminal matters;
  • 5. 
    The European Monitoring Centre for Drugs and Drug Addiction and the European Union Agency for Fundamental Rights, Europol, Eurojust, Cepol and other bodies and agencies in the same area
  • 6. 
    The determination of a clear risk of a serious breach by a Member State of the principles common to the Member States