Committee on Development (DEVE)

The Parliamentary Committee on Development is responsible for:

  • 1. 
    The promotion, implementation and monitoring of the development and cooperation policy of the Union, notably:

(a) Political dialogue with developing countries, bilaterally and in the relevant international organisations and interparliamentary fora,

(b) Aid to, and cooperation agreements with, developing countries,

(c) Promotion of democratic values, good governance and human rights in developing countries

  • 2. 
    Matters relating to the ACP-EU Partnership Agreement and relations with the relevant bodies
  • 3. 
    Parliament's involvement in election observation missions, when appropriate in cooperation with other relevant committees and delegations

The committee coordinates the work of the interparliamentary delegations and ad hoc delegations falling within its remit.