Committee on Foreign Affairs (AFET)

The Parliamentary Committee on Foreign Affairs is responsible for:

  • 1. 
    The common foreign and security policy (CFSP) and the European security and defence policy (ESDP). In this context the committee is assisted by a subcommittee on security and defence
  • 2. 
    Relations with other EU institutions and bodies, the UNO and other international organisations and interparliamentary assemblies for matters falling under its responsibility
  • 3. 
    The strengthening of political relations with third countries, particularly those in the immediate vicinity of the Union, by means of major cooperation and assistance programmes or international agreements such as association and partnership agreements
  • 4. 
    The opening, monitoring and concluding of negotiations concerning the accession of European States to the Union
  • 5. 
    Issues concerning human rights, the protection of minorities and the promotion of democratic values in third countries. In this context the committee is assisted by a subcommittee on human rights. Without prejudice to the relevant rules, members from other committees and bodies with responsibilities in this field shall be invited to attend the meetings of the subcommittee

The committee coordinates the work of joint parliamentary committees and parliamentary cooperation committees as well as that of the interparliamentary delegations and ad hoc delegations and election observation missions falling within its remit


Members EP committee



    Sergej Stanishev iS&D
    Urmas Paet iRN


    Michael Gahler iEPP
    Kinga Gál iEPP
    Antonio López-Istúriz White iEPP

    Reinhard Bütikofer iGreens/EFA
    Tanja Fajon iS&D
    Sandra Kalniete iEPP
    Silvio Berlusconi iEPP

    Tonino Picula iS&D
    Maria Arena iS&D
    Petras Auštrevičius iRN

    Karol Karski iECR

    Ilhan Kyuchyuk iRN
    Javier Nart iRN
    Demetris Papadakis iS&D

    Kati Piri (PvdA) iS&D
    Harald Vilimsky iID
    Hilde Vautmans iRN
    Stelios Kouloglou i

    Andrius Kubilius iEPP

    Tineke Strik (GL) iGreens/EFA

    Jordi Solé iGreens/EFA


    Adam Bielan iECR

    Andrea Cozzolino iS&D
    Peter van Dalen (CU) iEPP
    Arnaud Danjean iEPP
    Marisa Matias i
    Norbert Neuser iS&D
    Paulo Rangel iEPP
    Milan Zver iEPP
    Raffaele Fitto iECR
    Nikos Androulakis iS&D
    Nicolas Bay iID
    Andrea Bocskor iEPP
    Andor Deli iEPP
    Angel Dzhambazki iECR
    Jytte Guteland iS&D
    Manolis Kefalogiannis iEPP
    Zdzisław Krasnodębski iECR

    Emmanuel Maurel i
    Dan Nica iS&D
    Ernest Urtasun iGreens/EFA
    Marco Zanni iID

    Malik Azmani (VVD) iRN
    Katarina Barley iS&D

    Assita Kanko iECR

    Bert-Jan Ruissen (SGP) iECR

    Nils Ušakovs iS&D

    Daniel Caspary iEPP
    Andrey Kovatchev iEPP
    Gabriel Mato iEPP

    Bart Groothuis (VVD) iRN