Legal provisions of COM(2022)631 - Suspension of certain provisions of Regulation 810/2009 with respect to Senegal

Please note

This page contains a limited version of this dossier in the EU Monitor.

Article 1 - Scope

(1) This Decision shall apply to nationals of Senegal who are subject to the visa requirement pursuant to Regulation (EU) 2018/1806.

(2) This Decision shall not apply to nationals of Senegal who are exempt from the visa requirement under Article 4 or Article 6 of Regulation (EU) 2018/1806.

(3) This Decision shall not apply to nationals of Senegal applying for a visa and who are family members of a Union citizen to whom Directive 2004/38/EC applies or family members of a national of a third country enjoying a right of free movement equivalent to that of Union citizens under an agreement between the Union and a third country.

(4) This Decision shall be without prejudice to the cases where a Member State is bound by an obligation of international law, namely:

(a)as a host country of an international intergovernmental organisation;

(b)as a host country to an international conference convened by, or under the auspices of, the United Nations or other international intergovernmental organisations hosted by a member State;

(c)under a multilateral agreement conferring privileges and immunities;

(d)pursuant to the 1929 Treaty of Conciliation (Lateran Pact) concluded by the Holy See (Vatican City State) and Italy, as last amended.

Article 2 - Temporary suspension of the application of certain provisions of Regulation (EC) No 810/2009

The application of the following provisions of Regulation (EC) No 810/2009 shall be temporarily suspended:

(a)    Article 14(6);

(b)    Article 16(5), point (b);

(c)    Article 23(1);

(d)    Article 24(2) and (2c).

Article 3 - Addressees

This Decision is addressed to the Kingdom of Belgium, the Republic of Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, the Federal Republic of Germany, the Republic of Estonia, the Hellenic Republic, the Kingdom of Spain, the French Republic, the Republic of Croatia, the Italian Republic, the Republic of Cyprus, the Republic of Latvia, the Republic of Lithuania, the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg, Hungary, the Republic of Malta, the Kingdom of the Netherlands, the Republic of Austria, the Republic of Poland, the Portuguese Republic, Romania, the Republic of Slovenia, the Slovak Republic, the Republic of Finland and the Kingdom of Sweden.