

COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION

Brussels, 15 April 2002 (17.04) (OR. fr)

5440/02

SOC 24

"I/A" ITEM NOTE

| from: | General Secretariat of the Council | |
|-----------------|---|--|
| to: | Permanent Representatives Committee (Part 1)/Council | |
| No. prev. doc.: | 12438/1/99 SOC 372 REV 1 | |
| Subject: | Renewal of the Advisory Committee on Freedom of Movement of Workers | |

The term of office of the members and alternate members of the Advisory Committee on Freedom of Movement for Workers expired on 16 December 2001.

Pursuant to Articles 26 and 27 of Council Regulation (EEC) No 1612/68 of 15 October 1968, members and alternate members are appointed by the Council for a period of two years.

Under Article 34 of that Regulation, it is for each Government to appoint, from among its representatives on the Advisory Committee, a member and an alternate to sit on the Technical Committee.

<u>The Permanent Representatives Committee</u> could accordingly suggest that <u>the Council:</u>

- adopt the annexed Decision as an "A" item on its agenda, and
- order its publication for information in the Official Journal of the European Communities.

5440/02 ker/MM/mcs EN DG G II

COUNCIL DECISION

appointing members and alternate members of the Advisory Committee on Freedom of Movement for Workers

THE COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION,

Having regard to Council Regulation (EEC) No 1612/68 of 15 October 1968 on freedom of movement for workers within the Community ¹, and in particular Articles 26 and 27 thereof,

Having regard to the lists of candidates submitted to the Council by the Governments of the Member States,

Whereas:

- (1) the Council, by its Decision of 17 December 1999 ², appointed the members and alternate members of the Advisory Committee on Freedom of Movement for Workers for the period from 17 December 1999 to 16 December 2001,
- (2) members and alternate members of the said Committee should be appointed for a period of two years,

HAS DECIDED AS FOLLOWS:

OJ C 4, 7.1.2000, p. 1.

_

¹ OJ L 257, 18.10.1968, p. 2.

Article 1

The following are hereby appointed members and alternate members of the Advisory Committee on Freedom of Movement for Workers for the period from **7 May 2002 to 6 May 2004**:

I. GOVERNMENT REPRESENTATIVES

| Country | Members | Alternates |
|----------------|--------------------------------|--------------------------------|
| Belgium | Mr Thierry LHOIR | Ms Nadine RENIERS |
| | Ms Manjula EKKA | |
| Denmark | Ms Elise QUAADE | Mr Erik HOLCK HANSEN |
| | Mr Kim TAASBY | |
| Germany | Mr Gisbert BRINKMANN | Ms Dagmar FELDGEN |
| | Ms Friederike ORTMANN | |
| Greece | Mr Andreas KARIDIS | Ms Lydia KOTROFF |
| | Mr Konstantinos CHRYSSINIS | |
| Spain | Ms Covadonga HERRERO COCO | Mr Miguel COLINA ROBLEDO |
| • | Ms Amaia SAEZ DE VITERI LETE | |
| France | Mr Christian LEFEUVRE | Ms Nadia MAROT |
| | Mr David SARTHOU | |
| Ireland | Mr Peter BUCKLEY | Ms Marie DEMPSEY |
| | Mr Kevin QUINN | |
| Italy | Mr Luigi IELO | Ms Margherita Maria Giuseppina |
| | Mr Enrico MORA | ESPOSITO SEU |
| Luxembourg | Mr Jean ZAHLEN | Ms Nadine WELTER |
| | Ms Mariette SCHOLTUS | |
| Netherlands | | |
| Austria | Ms Ingrid NOWOTNY | Mr Heinz KUTROWATZ |
| | Ms Doris WITEK-WEINDORFER | |
| Portugal | Ms Teresinha GARRIDO | Ms Maria do GUADALUPE |
| C | Ms Ana Cristina SANTOS PEDROSO | |
| Finland | Ms Mielikki TENHUNEN | Ms Tiina SINKKANEN |
| | Mr Olli SORAINEN | |
| Sweden | Mr Pontus RINGBORG | Ms Anna SANTESSON |
| | Ms Ann-Christin | |
| | LENNARTSSON-STÅHL | |
| United Kingdom | Ms Beth STRAW | Ms Anna HUDZIECZEK |
| | Mr Andrew MILTON | |

II. WORKERS' REPRESENTATIVES

| Country | Members | Alternates |
|----------------|---|-----------------------------------|
| Belgium | Mr Sakis DIMITRAKOPOULOS Mr Thierry AERTS | Mr Edwin LOOF |
| Denmark | Mr Michael JACOBSEN Ms Käthe MUNK RYOM | Mr Jens FRANK |
| Germany | Mr Volker ROßOCHA Mr Georg FAUPEL | Mr Heinz OSSENKAMP |
| Greece | Mr Spiros LEFTERIOTIS Mr Giorgos SKOULATAKIS | Mr Efthimios EFTHIMIOU |
| Spain | Mr Miguel COLINA ROBLEDO Mr José Maria DIAZ-ROPERO | Ms Pilar ROC |
| France | Ms An LENOUAIL-MARLIERE Ms Michèle MONRIQUE | Mr Omar BENFAID |
| Ireland | Ms Joan CARMICHAEL Mr Mike JENNINGS | Mr Brendan MACKEN |
| Italy | | |
| Luxembourg | Mr Edouardo DIAS Mr Daniel GEORGES | Mr Vincent JACQUET |
| Netherlands | Mr S. VAN DE POL Ms D. VAN SUIJDAM | Mr W.W. MULLER |
| Austria | Mr Josef WALLNER Mr Oliver RÖPKE | Mr Gernot MITTER |
| Portugal | Mr Carlos Manuel ALVES TRINDADE Mr Alberto Martinho GONÇALVES | Mr Rui Manuel OLIVEIRA e COSTA |
| Finland | Mr Janne METSÄMÄKI Mr Heikki LIEDE | Ms Leila KOSTIAINEN |
| Sweden | Mr Thord PETTERSSON Ms Christina EBBESKOG | Mr Ossian WENNSTRÖM |
| United Kingdom | Mr Roger McKENZIE Ms Nadja SALSON | |

III. <u>EMPLOYERS' REPRESENTATIVES</u>

| Country | Members | Alternates |
|----------------|-------------------------------|---------------------------|
| Belgium | Ms Sonja KOHNENMERGEN | Mr Ivo VAN DAMME |
| | Mr Philippe STIENON | |
| Denmark | Mr Flemming DREESEN | Mr Thomas RØNNOW |
| | Mr Erik SIMONSEN | |
| Germany | Ms Angela SCHNEIDER-BODIEN | Ms Ilka HOUBEN |
| | Mr Bernhard SCHWARZKOPF | |
| Greece | Mr Giorgos MANIATIS | Mr Leonidas NIKOLOUZOS |
| | Mr Antonis MENKOULIS | |
| Spain | Mr Pablo GÓMEZ ALBO | Mr José L. SALIDO BANÚS |
| 1 | Mr Roberto SUÁREZ GARCÍA | |
| France | Ms Odile MENNETEAU | Mr Jean-Louis TERDJMAN |
| | Mr Arnold BRUM | |
| Ireland | Ms Heidi LOUGHEED | Mr Loughlin DEEGAN |
| | Ms Catherine SMITH | |
| Italy | | |
| Luxembourg | Ms Christiane BERTRAND-SCHAUL | Mr Romain SCHMIT |
| | Mr Pierre BLEY | |
| Netherlands | Mr A. VAN DELFT | Mr G.A.M. VAN DER GRIND |
| | Mr S.J.L. NIEUWSMA | |
| Austria | Ms Maria KAUN | Ms Christa SCHWENG |
| | Mr Johannes KOPF | |
| Portugal | Mr João MELO | Mr João BAGUINHO VALENTIM |
| | Mr Marcelino PENA COSTA | |
| Finland | Mr Pekka CASTRÉN | Mr Mikko NYYSSÖLA |
| | Mr Mikko RÄSÄNEN | |
| Suède | Ms Karin EKENGER | Mr Fredrik SEGERFELDT |
| | Mr Markus GUSTAFSSON | |
| United Kingdom | Mr Jay SHETH | |
| | Mr Thomas HADLEY | |

Article 2

The Council will at a later date appoint the members not yet designated by Italy, the Netherlands and the United Kingdom.

Article 3

This Decision shall be published, for information, in the Official Journal of the European Communities.

Done at

For the Council The President